Okay, so here’s the deal. I know this blog was supposed to be all about books and movies and I know it was kind of fun while it lasted, and I know that if you’re reading this then chances are that you, like me, have been waiting for the day it makes a comeback.

But let’s face it. It’s been two and a half years since I last posted on this site. This parrot is dead, dead, dead.

On the other hand, just as every failed movie star has the potential to come back as a character actor, or a broadway lead, or (if all else fails) a judge on a reality show, there may still be a role or two out there for this hoary old blog, even if it’s days of waxing eloquent and self-important about every novel on the Booker longlist are long behind it.

In short, my new plan is to turn Momus into a blog where I review not books or movies (though who knows when that too might happen – if William Shatner can have a movie career anything is possible) but the plays, concerts, performances and exhibitions I attend on a regular basis here in Minneapolis. I realize this may not be terribly interesting for most of this blog’s 3.5 readers, who may have little interest in reading about shows they have never heard of and have no opportunity to attend, but this has never been about being reader-friendly anyway, and I’m sick of creating new blogs only to have them quickly devolve into an abiding source of comment spam.

So here it is, miss-yous and med-arms, the new, the improved, the unrepentant: Momus.

